Maine Library Association

Outstanding Librarian of the Year

The Outstanding Librarian of the Year Award was created in 1993 to highlight professional achievement and service to the Maine Library Community.

 The following past recipients are recognized and applauded for their service to the cause of libraries in our stat

Award Year  Recipient's Name  Recipient's Library
 2023 Mary-Lou Boucouvalas Director, Louis T. Graves Memorial Public Library
 2022 Angie Herrick
 Director, Skowhegan Free Public Library
 2021 Janet McKenney
 Director of Library Development, Maine State Library
 2019 Susan M. Preece
 Director, Topsham Public Library
 2018 Matt Delaney
 Director, Millinocket Memorial Library
 2017  Rich Boulet  Director, Blue Hill Public Library
 2017  Joyce Rumery  Dean of Libraries, University of Maine at Orono
 2016  Ruth Eveland  Director, Jesup Memorial Library, Bar Harbor
 2015  Anne Davis  Director, Gardiner Public Library, Gardiner
 2014  Jen Alvino  Director, Windham Public Library, Windham
 2013  Deanna Gouzie  Children's Services, MacArthur Public Library, Biddeford
 2012  Jay Scherma  Director, Thomas Memorial Library, Cape Elizabeth
 2011  Yvonne Gloede  Director, Jackson Memorial Library, Tenant's Harbor
 2010  NO AWARD  
 2009  Rick Speer  Director, Lewiston Public Library
 2008  NO AWARD  
 2007  Barbara Keef  Reference/Technology Librarian, Windham Public Library
 2006  Shirley Helfrich  Southern Maine Library District Consultant, Maine State Library
 2005  Linda Packard  Director, Guilford Public Library
 2004  J Gary Nichols  State Librarian, Maine State Library
 2003  Valerie Osborne  Director, Old Town Public Library
 2002  Barbara McDade  Director, Bangor Public Library
 2001  Elaine Albright  Dean of Libraries, University of Maine, Orono
 2000  Steve Podgjany  Director, Curtis Memorial Library, Brunswick
 1999  Marilyn Clark  Director, Emily & Mark Turner Memorial Library, Presque Isle
 1998  Karl Beiser  Technowizard, Maine State Library
 1997  Mary Peverada  Children's Services, Portland Public Library
 1996  Benita Davis  Northern Maine Library District Consultant, Maine State Library
 1995  Reta Schreiber  Assistant Director, Bangor Public Library
 1994  Marcia Dwvorak/Bob Woodard  Director, Thorndike Library, College of the Atlantic/Bangor Public Library
 1993  Glenna Nowell  Director, Gardiner Public Library

Maine Library Association

55 N. Main Street, Unit 49

Belchertown, MA 01007


Business Manager / General Inbox 

© 2023 Maine Library Association 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software