Maine Library Association

YSS is open to anyone interested in promoting, supporting and improving library services to young people.
Just select the YSS Interest Group on your MLA membership page or email YSS for assistance! 
The Youth Services Board currently consists of 7 members, a past chair who guides the executive board, and several ex-officio members.
Terms are for 2+ years and are staggered. If you are interested in joining the board, please email YSS.  
Check out this informational slide show to learn a little about YSS.

Questions? Contact chair Danie Fortin at

Activities & Projects

Some of the projects supported by the YSS are:
  • Performer's Showcase: We collected reviews from librarians around the state and put them together in a handy document for you. 
  • Beg, Borrow, Steal: Our fall event where librarians are invited to bring programs to share and questions to ponder. Read notes from past meetings.
  • Summer Reading Planning sessions: Our spring event where librarians can talk about all things summer reading! We welcome libraries that use CSLP and those that don't. Read notes from past planning sessions. 
  • Maine Youth Librarians: A Facebook group to share ideas relating to youth services in libraries.
  • The YouthServices-L mailing list  provides a professional connection for Maine's Youth Services Librarians, academic, public and school, offering an avenue of discussion pertaining uniquely to all aspects of children's services, including literature, programming, policies, administrative and other issues, concerns, and topics within the field.


YSS also oversees two awards for excellence in children's literature: the annual Lupine Award for best picture or youth books with a Maine connection, and the Katahdin Award to recognize an outstanding body of work by a Maine author/illustrator of children's or youth literature.

YSS Executive Board:

  • Chair: Danielle Fortin, McArthur Library, temporary term ending 2022
  • Vice-Chair: Mary Beckett, Edythe-Dyer Library, term ending 2023
  • Secretary: Jessie Trafton, Skidompha Public Library, term ending 2023
  • Member-at-Large: Deanna McNamara, McArthur Public Library, term ending 2022
  • Member-at-Large: Jon Roy, Curtis Memorial Library, term ending 2023
  • Reading Round-Up Liaison: Kayla Chase, Auburn Public Library
  • Head of Lupine Committee: Kathleen Wirth, Saco Middle School
  • Past Chair: Samantha Cote, Windham Public Library
  • Kara Reiman, Youth Literacy Consultant, Maine State Library (Ex-Officio)
  • Christina Dorman, STEM/Emerging Technologies Statewide Specialist (Ex-Officio)

Other State Awards

Maine Student Book Award (MSBA) - The Maine Student Book Award is designed to expand literary horizons of students in grades 4-8 by encouraging them to read, evaluate, and enjoy a selection of new books and to choose a statewide favorite by written ballot each spring. The MSBA is a joint project of the Maine Library Association, Maine Association of School Libraries, and Maine Literacy Council.

North Star Book Award - The North Star Award is designed to encourage young adults to read for fun. Our goal is to help teens feel empowered by selecting a statewide favorite to share with the world. The North Star Award is a joint project of the Maine Library Association, Maine Association of School Libraries, and Maine Literacy Council. 


Read our group bylaws, approved April 13, 2018.

Maine Library Association

55 N. Main Street, Unit 49

Belchertown, MA 01007


Business Manager / General Inbox 

© 2021 Maine Library Association 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software